Eurovision Blog

100% Dedicated To Eurovision

The Great Big Eurovision Experiment – Moldova

Posted by DINRIL on May 21, 2008

Geta, we know you didn’t make the final but you were good enough to answer our questions. And here – a little late, but better late than never – are your answers. Hurrah!

How does it feel to be representing your country at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest?

 I am very proud to represent my little country because I love it so much and people that I know trust me a lot. I will sing on behalf of the citizens of my country that live here despite all the troubles and know how to love this life and how to appreciate its values. 

What can we expect from your performance?

Sincerity, naturalness, tenderness. I will sing about my emotions that I am living day by day, emotions that filled my existence with true senses. I would like to send these emotions to the audience in order to share with them the love I wish them to be in. Unfortunately love became a deficit in a century of solitude and vanity. My show won’t be a circus, it won’t flummox, it won’t show the great financial investments that other big artists can afford. It will be a simple mise-en-scene… as in the real life. I won’t invent the bicycle; I won’t impress the audience with an “artistic shock”… I want to be sincere with the public and sing as I feel.

Which of this year’s other songs do you rate?

I like the duet from Azerbaijan, the beautiful Israeli ballad, the duet from Romania exhibits good voices; the British song is very stylish. Most of this year’s artists have wonderful personalities. We are all very different having our own art. 

Have you always been a fan of Eurovision?

To tell you the truth- not really, I was watching the contests of artists and the vocal abilities not the songs. I started to watch Eurovision in 2005 when Moldova took part for the first time.

Which is your favorite Eurovision song of all time, and which is your favourite from your home country?

As I already told, I started to watch Eurovision lately. During its last editions I like the Balkan ballads, I liked the professionalism of the Latvian “Cosmos’, I appreciated the Hungary show in 2007 for its laconism.

Among our participations I can mention the Grandma of “Zdob and Zdub”. She was very charming and real.

What do you think about the debate over so-called ‘political’ voting? Do you think it exists or is it more a case of viewers in certain parts of the world voting for artists they are already familiar with? 

I believe there is a political and geopolitical touch in this contest. Moreover, Eurovision became a whole industry with a lot of investments and financial interests. In general I don’t believe in the objectivity of the contests. But I don’t want to think too much about this now. I go to the ESC to sing sincerely about some values and to represent my country. I think the art and music cannot be judged, classed or objectively analyzed. The artist is not a racing horse. The artistic fact in itself matters for the real artist.

How is Eurovision received in your country? Do people take it seriously there?

In 2005 Moldova took part for the first time in the ESC. It is a new artistic event for our country. That is why this contest is much advertised and it is very popular. Moldova has a serious attitude towards this contest and appreciates its far-reaching effect. For the Moldovan artists Eurovision is one of the few chances to get such a numerous audience at the international level. That is why our artists have a serious attitude towards the contest and would never present songs-parodies or grotesque circus that we can see in the other countries’ shows performing with irony and exhibiting their superficial attitude.

What do you think of this year’s UK entry? Do you think your country may give us some points (please?????? 😉 )
The song presented by Andy Abraham is very up-to-the-minute and very stylish. This is my opinion and my colleagues’ opinion as well, my colleagues being professional people in the musical field. Your artist has a good timbre and is very charismatic. Sincerely I don’t think that such a large audience is able to appreciate the professionalism of the UK song. You already know that unfortunately the on-day-s songs succeed in the ESC. But let’s still hope that the good quality music would be also appreciated. The quality of the public to appreciate matters a lot, not only the quantity. I believe it matters for you as well!

 

 

2 Responses to “The Great Big Eurovision Experiment – Moldova”

  1. Horse Racing Results…

    UK Horse Racing results including the latest results from all of todays horse racing meetings….

  2. alimentacion saludable…

    […]The Great Big Eurovision Experiment – Moldova « Eurovision Blog[…]…

Leave a Reply

 
