Eurovision Blog

100% Dedicated To Eurovision

The Great Big Eurovision Experiment 2009 – Belarus!

Posted by DINRIL on April 30, 2009

petrelfimovPetr Elfimov, Belarussian representative in Moscow – bring it on!

How does it feel to be representing your country at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest?
I feel the great honour to be the 6th representative of Belarus at Eurovision.

What are you most looking forward to about taking part?
I am looking forward to my new experience, new emotions, new friends and of course a high result!

What can we expect from your performance? Are you planning a lavish stage show?
We have to ask my stage boss, famous polish director Janusz Josefovich, who definetely will do something what will be in harmony with my song.

Are you looking forward to visiting Moscow?
Yes, of course! I’ve been to Moscow many times, I have lots of friends there. Several times in the year I usually have my performances in this great capital.

Which of this year’s other songs do you rate?

Eyes that never lie, I think 🙂

Which is your favourite Eurovision song of all time, and which is your favourite from your home country?
Of course I have to say about Abba! I like the song of Sertab and Ruslana. I was impressed by the performance of Marija Sherifovic, I like her song very much.
As a rock-singer,  I also enjoyed the performance and the song of sweet monsters from Finland – the Lordi band! I like the song “My Galileo” of the first representatives of Belarus at ESC Aleksandra and Konstantin. By the way, I was their backing vocalist at Eurovision 2004 in Turkey.

What do you think about the debate over so-called ‘political’ voting?
I prefer not to think about it, but to think about music, which can be the common language for all the countries.

How do you think the return of jury voting might influence the final result?
Maybe they will, but from the other side it’s always interesting to know the opinion of the both sides – people and professional jury.

Why do you think Eurovision is still so popular, even after all these years?
It’s a great event, great forum, where each country can represent all the best it has in the sphere of popular music and show-biz. Also it’s always interesting to know something more about the singers and stars from another countries. Apart of it – Eurovision is the greatest TV-show with the most professional international team, which works to show the Europe bright unforgettable spectatle.

Have you heard the UK’s song this year and what do you think? Any chance your country could give us some points this year (please…….?  )
I got the chance to meet Jade twicely – in Greece and then in Ukraine. I think she is a very talented singer and beautiful girl. By the way I am an admirer of A.L. Webber’s music and always dreamed to sing the part of Jesus in Jesus Christ Superstar, so I wish the best of luck to UK this year and will be happy if you will get 12 points from Belarus!

Leave a Reply

 
