Eurovision Blog

100% Dedicated To Eurovision

The Great Big Eurovision Experiment 2009 – Sweden

Posted by Caroline on May 8, 2009

malenaernmanThe voice behind La Voix, Malena Ernman, takes the Eurovision Blog challenge…..

How does it feel to be representing your country at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest?

It feels great! It’s really such an honour. ..it’s almost like you’re on the national team – like Zlatan Ibrahimovic or Henrik Larsson!!!!

What are you most looking forward to about taking part?

Well…I think it’s a mix of the excitement and the adventure and just meeting the people that really care about this more than anything else; the fans! And I think there will be an enormous adrenalin rush up there on stage. You see I would NEVER go diving or parachute jumping…this is more than enough!!!

What can we expect from your performance? Are you planning a lavish stage show?

Lots of nudity! only joking ….. I think we have a clear theme that is quite clean. Someone called me the ice queen from Narnia…. There are 5 dancers dressed in black and I am all white. But no fireworks or anything! Pretty clean i would say. I guess I’m not your average eurovision singer… so we’re basically trying to focus on the singing.. if you do wonder what I normally do: please visit http://www.malenaernman.com!

Have you ever been to Moscow and are you looking forward to it?

No never! And yes of course…I hear it’s a very cool place these days.

Which of this year’s other songs do you rate?

Norway! And the nordic countrys… And Ireland. Armenia is great. .. and England and Germany and Slovenia and France and… oh there are so many!

Which is your favourite Eurovision song of all time, and which is your favourite from your home country?

I think the answer to both questions is Waterloo. Abba!

What do you think about the debate over so-called ‘political’ voting?

Well… I think in some ways it’s unfortunate. But it’s also a natural thing. We have different taste in different cultures… I am from Sweden so it’s not really strange for me to feel I have many things in common with someone from Denmark or Finland. But on the other hand we’re all the same. Whether we live in Moldavia or Israel or Yorkshire or Brabant or Madrid or Stockholm…. I guess that’s why we do this show for a start – to tear down all the borders! I don’t like borders!!! I think nationalism belongs in football stadiums… the rest of the time we should all be as one.

How do you think the return of jury voting might influence the final result?

No idea!!!! In Sweden the jury didn’t care much for my song… but the people did. But it might be very different in Moscow…. Why do you think Eurovision is still so popular, even after all these years? Because it’s entertainment!!!! Unpredictible and almost impossible to tell in advance… just like sport really. And because it attracts so many great artists from all over europe.

Have you heard the UK’s song this year and what do you think? Any chance your country could give us some points this year (please…….? 🙂 )

Of course! And it’s really good too! She’s really lovely. I could give you a 12 right now – I do have quite a powerful lobby you know! And my account number is…..(meeeeeeeeeeps! – Ed)

Leave a Reply

 
