Eurovision Blog

100% Dedicated To Eurovision

The Great Big Eurovision Experiment 2009 – Cyprus

Posted by Caroline on May 14, 2009

cyprus2-RESIZE-257-172Wave hello to this year’s youngest performer, Cyprus’ Christina Metaxa…..

How does it feel to be representing your country at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest?

It is pure magic and to be honest I realized that when I started meeting the “Eurovision family” the amazing, enthusiastic eurovision fans I met during my promo tour in England, Holland and Ukraine. I feel honored and blessed to be given this opportunity and I will do my very best to make my little beautiful island proud.

What are you most looking forward to about taking part?

Enjoying the 3 minutes and managing to touch the hearts of the audience with the melody of my song.

What can we expect from your performance? Are you planning a lavish stage show?

As our art director “Photis Nikolaou” said “It will be a performance of the heart, a jewel on stage, a beam of light in the darkness…”

Have you ever been to Moscow and are you looking forward to it?

I have never been to Moscow and I am excited about it!!!!

Which of this year’s other songs do you rate?

I am a person who tends to be positive and look at the beauty of each song. There are so many beautiful and unique songs that I really like…but of course…I am expecting those 3 minutes to finally rate the songs.

Which is your favourite Eurovision song of all time, and which is your favourite from your home country

Ireland’s song “Hold me now” with the amazing Johnny Logan and Switzerland’s “Ne partez pas sans moi” with my favourite singer Celine Dion. From my home country I really like “ Comme ci comme ca” with Evridiki and Korgialas.

What do you think about the debate over so-called ‘political’ voting?

It shouldn’t exist as this is a musical party and we should all vote for the music that touches our heart.


How do you think the return of jury voting might influence the final result?

I believe it will make it more valid and it will make it more reliable.

Why do you think Eurovision is still so popular, even after all these years?

Because music unites people .It is the language of the universe and it will never stop touching the hearts of people.


Have you heard the UK’s song this year and what do you think? Any chance your country could give us some points this year (please…….? 🙂 )

Personally, I love the melody of the song and generally I am a big fan of Andrew Lloyd Webber. Of course our country will give you some points this year.

Leave a Reply

 
