Eurovision Blog

100% Dedicated To Eurovision

We Asked, They Answered: Sweden

Posted by Caroline on April 15, 2010

Every year around this time, we decide it would be fun to try and get interviews with as many of the forthcoming Eurovision participants as possible, (which generally involves sending out long begging emails to publicists, saying nice things about their country’s entry etc etc. and then seeing what comes back). And 2010 has been no exception. Over the coming weeks leading up to the final we’ll hopefully be bringing you quite a few of these, but to get the ball rolling this year here’s the lovely Anna Bergendahl from Sweden:

Introduce yourself to our readers and tell us how you ended up being Sweden’s Eurovision representative this year!

I am an eighteen year old girl who grew up in a small town with my parents and siblings. Music means everything to me, and I don’t think an hour passes by without me singing. I write a lot of music, and I always bring my iPod for inspiration and consolation!

I entered the contest in Sweden with no hopes what so ever. All I wanted to do was a good performance, and I really felt like an underdog. Yet somehow, I ended up winning the whole shebang. Outlasting a lot of big singers and artists in Sweden. I couldn’t believe it, and I still can’t! Right now I feel as free as a bird, as if the whole world has been laid by my feet. I am so exited about competing in the Eurovision Song Contest, and I will do my best, but most of all, just have a lot of fun.

What are you most looking forward to about taking part and what can we expect from your stage show?

I am looking forward to my performance in the semi final and hopefully later on in the big final. The thought of standing in front of a whole Europe is nerve racking, yet fantastic! I also look forward to meeting a lot of new and interesting people!

Which is your favourite all time Eurovision song and your favourite from your home country?

I really liked Carolas Invincible, and I was blown away by Alexander Ryback!


Which of the other entries this year do you rate?

I love Germany and Belgium! They are both great singers and I love their songs!

Many Eurovision fans have said it isn’t a great year for songs, what do you think about this?

I don’t agree! I liked a lot of songs and I really think there is a wide range of songs artists and performances in the show.

Sweden hasn’t won Eurovision in a while, despite being one of the most successful countries in the contest. Do you have a strategy to try and reverse this trend and bring the contest back to Sweden?

I don’t have the secret recepe to winning ESC! I will to my best and try to bring warmth, hope and a lot of love to the show. Let’s just how  far that will take med!

Eurovision always suffers from accusations of political/neighbourly voting. Do you think the new voting system with the re-introduction of juries has gone some way to changing people’s minds?

I don’t see the problem in voting for your neighbour! Of course you want to support the once closest to you. But in the end I think the best song will win, despite geographical location.

Have you heard the UK entry this year and if so what do you think of it? Any chance Sweden could give us some points (if we asked nicely…….?)

He is a great singer! I’ll do everything in my power to make sure they’ll vote for your entry!

2 Responses to “We Asked, They Answered: Sweden”

  1. Reymon said

    Although I can’t vote in ESC but
    I think this year Azerbaijan is championship..!

  2. Arthur said

    It’s an remarkable paragraph in favor of all the online users; they will take advantage from it I am sure.|

Leave a Reply

 
