Eurovision Blog

100% Dedicated To Eurovision

Just talk to us already: Switzerland

Posted by Caroline on April 20, 2011

Hoping that the rest of Europe will be In Love For A While with her song (oh come on, we sat here for hours working on this intro, you try coming up with something better 🙂 ), Anna Rossinelli takes on the Eurovision Blog interview challenge….

Introduce yourselves and tell us how you ended up representing Switzerland in Eurovision this year! My name is Anna Rossinelli. For almost 3 years I’m playing with my band in the streets of our hometown Basel and other European cities. One day David Klein passed by and heard us play. Later he called me and asked me if I wanted to sing his song for the Swiss Eurovision preselection. Of course I said yes.

Are you looking forward to going to Dusseldorf? What can we expect from your stage show? Of course I do, it’s a good feeling to be part of such a big event. Our stage show is going to be authentic and easy, but there will be some surprises.

Switzerland failed to make it out of the semi-final last year, how do you plan to change that this year? In the last years men represented Switzerland, I think it’s time for a woman.

Which of this year’s other entries do you rate? I really like the song from Italy.
Which is your favourite Eurovision entry of all time and which is your favourite from your home country? I don’t have a favourite all time Eurovision song. The best representative of my country is probably Celine Dion.

Here in the UK Eurovision is regarded by many as a bit of a joke (something we are aiming to change this year with our entry). How is it regarded in Switzerland? Many people in Switzerland are a bit disappointed that it has really been a long time since Switzerland has reached the final.

Why do you think so many people still love it so much even after all this time? The nice thing about the ESC is that so many nations come together and their very different styles of music get mixed in the same event.

What will be the first thing you do if you win? I’m calling my friends and I’m going to have a real big party.

Have you heard the UK entry and what do you think of it? Is it a bit better than our recent entries or are we going to come last again? Be honest……:) Of course I heard the UK entry. It’s a big advantage that Blue already is a famous band, so I definitely think you’re not going to become last again.

And finally, tell me why Switzerland should have the chance to host Eurovision in 2012 and which city would you choose to host it? It’s been more than 20 years since Switzerland won last time, so it’s about time. I would choose my hometown Basel, there’s a big stadium and it’s a nice city.

Leave a Reply

 
