Eurovision Blog

100% Dedicated To Eurovision

Just talk to us already: Norway

Posted by DINRIL on April 23, 2011

As the Eurovision Blog interviews quest continues apace, it’s time to say Haba Haba! to Norway’s Stella Mwangi. Actually a simple “hello” would suffice….

Introduce yourself and tell us how you ended up representing Norway in Eurovision this year! Since I saw the Eurovision in Oslo last year, I got a powerful feeling saying that I should write a song for the next year’s contest. I wrote Haba Haba together with my producers Big City and Beyond51. The song is inspired from my grandparent’s wisdom words. The Norwegians loved the song and voted for me until I won. That was probably the happiest day of my life cause my dream was transformed to reality.

Are you looking forward to going to Dusseldorf? What can we expect from your stage show? Oh yes I can’t wait! My performance will be wonderful, just have to wait and see 😉

Which is your favourite Eurovision entry of all time and which is your favourite from your home country? I have to go with Bobbysocks with ‘La det svinge’. That song always make me want to sing and dance.

Here in the UK Eurovision is regarded by many as a bit of a joke (something we are aiming to change this year with our entry). How is it regarded in Norway? Eurovision is big in Norway, that’s why I’m so grateful for getting such a huge opportunity to show the world what I can.

Why do you think so many people still love it so much even after all this time? I guess it’s because music never dies.

What will be the first thing you do if you win? Wow I think I will go bananas!

Have you heard the UK entry and what do you think of it? Is it a bit better than our recent entries or are we going to come last again? Be honest……:) I think the song is good and has a positive message that will inspire a lot of people to have more faith in themselves.

And finally, tell me why Norway should have the chance to host Eurovision once again in 2012 and which city would you choose to host it? Because I will make the whole of Europe to smile, sing and dance with me! 😉 If I was to choose a town, then I would choose the town I grew up in which is Eidsvoll or the town I live in now which is Lillestrøm. But it’s funny cause they are both very small towns so I think we’ll have to build many hotels.


Leave a Reply

 
