Eurovision Blog

100% Dedicated To Eurovision

Just talk to us already: Serbia

Posted by Caroline on April 23, 2011

Let’s give a warm welcome to Nina, the first ever Serbian participant to tackle the Eurovision Blog interview. Young lady, we salute you (and your song’s not half bad either!)

Introduce yourself and tell us how you ended up representing Serbia in Eurovision this year!
Hi, my name is Nina and I am ordinary girl from Belgrade, student and singer. This year is magical year for me, as I ended up as Serbian representative on this year Eurovision Song Contest. This is big honor for me and I will try my best on Düsseldorf stage. I was selected on National Contest in Belgrade, after composer Christina Covac decided that I should be the voice for her fantastic composition called “Magical”.

Are you looking forward to going to Düsseldorf? What can we expect from your stage show?  Yes I am, really looking forward to this year Contest. My stage show will be very similar as the one that won Serbian Contest. It is retro, cheerful, fun.

Which of this year’s other entries do you rate? I rate all entries, really I do. Congratulations to all participants from Serbia and myself.

Which is your favorite Eurovision entry of all time and which is your favorite from your home country? Of course that I admire group ABBA and also I do think that Marija Serifovic from Serbia who won ESC 2007 is the best our song of all time.

Here in the UK Eurovision is regarded by many as a bit of a joke (something we are aiming to change this year with our entry). How is it regarded in Serbia? I think that some things are changing globally considering Eurovison. In last 10 years stage show was as much important as the songs. I believe that some new wave is coming up and that quality of the songs is now days something to consider and that is good.

Why do you think so many people still love it so much even after all this time?
Eurovision Song Contest has its specific charm and long tradition. It is unique and it is family TV show for all generation.

What will be the first thing you do if you win? Well I did not thought about it but I presume that I would share that emotion with my beloved ones.

Have you heard the UK entry and what do you think of it? Is it a bit better than our recent entries or are we going to come last again? Be honest……:) Yes, it is definitely better and I wish you all success and good results in final.

And finally, tell me why Serbia should have the chance to host Eurovision again in 2012 and which city would you choose to host it? Well, Serbia is changing on better every year. Belgrade is beautiful and it is capital of the country. Of course, maybe we could consider Novi Sad as host as well. We love to host big shows in our country and I just can say that it would be amazing to do it again after just 4 years.

Leave a Reply

 
