Eurovision Blog

100% Dedicated To Eurovision

What have you got to say for yourself…Slovakia?

Posted by Caroline on April 9, 2012

He’s the first Slovakian representative ever to tackle the Eurovision Blog interview! So let’s all say ‘hi’ to Max Jason Mai…

Introduce yourself and tell us how you ended up representing Slovakia in Eurovision this year!

I am a rock musician trying to conquer the hearts of the rock fans. The fact that I should represent Slovakia came from RTVS and I accepted their offer. I recorded my song Don´t Close Your Eyes in USA with one of the best producers in the business Micheal Elvis Basquette. My aim is not only to represent my country. The aim is to represent all the rock fans from wherever they are. I am a MAXimalist and believe in maximal success!

Are you looking forward to going to Baku? What can we expect from your stage show?

Of course I am looking forward! I heard it was a wonderful city. I am sure I will enjoy my
stay there. We are working hard to set up a great stage performance. But let me keep it secret
for now.

Slovakia failed to make it out of the semi-final last year, how do you plan to change that this year?

My plans are simple. To do my best. To try to make viewers´ hearts beat faster. If that is enough or not will be decided by people and the jury.

Why do you think it took Slovakia such a long time to make a return to the contest after its initial appearance in the 90s?

To answer this question you have to ask the management of RTVS. I dont know much about the reasons. Most probably it is a matter of money.

Which of this year’s other entries do you rate?

Any easier question? (er, no……:))

There a lot of ballads this year; do you think from that point of view Don’t Close Your Eyes will stand out from the pack?

Totally! And I hope in a positive way. Always!

Here in the UK Eurovision is regarded by many as a bit of a joke, an attitude which a lot of us are trying to change. How is it regarded in  Slovakia?

Slovakia doesnt have a large ESC history so the Slovaks are just building up their relationship
with ESC 🙂

Why do you think so many people still love it so much even after all this time?

ESC is a world apart and ones you taste that world, u are captured by it.

Have you heard the UK entry yet and what do you think of it, and our somewhat older representative? Any chance of some points? (please…..:))

Mr. Humperdinck sounds like Tom Jones to me. I like the fact that he is still travelling, promoting the song…music makes him happy and that is a great thing. Music is a powerful fairy. Isn´t that wonderful? Regarding the points… I am not a jury member so I am not giving any points.

And finally, tell me why Slovakia should have the chance to host Eurovision in 2013 and which city would you choose to host it?

Hosting ESC next year would be a big challenge for us. That would be a quite unexpected situation 🙂 Because honestly…how big is the chance for such a small and unknown country like Slovakia to win?

One Response to “What have you got to say for yourself…Slovakia?”

  1. lajme said

    lajme…

    […]What have you got to say for yourself…Slovakia? « Eurovision Blog[…]…

Leave a comment